US Business in Africa Awards

Deadline: 30th of July, 2022

The awards are a partnership between African Centre for the study of the United States (ACSUS) at University of the Witwatersrand, U.S. Commercial Service, US Embassy in South Africa, U.S. Chamber of Commerce, Corporate Council on Africa, American chambers of commerce in Africa (AmChams), Wits Business School (WBS), Wits School of Economics and Finance, the William Davidson Institute based at the University of Michigan, and the The Economic Club of Africa in New York.

The aim of this award is to recognize US companies that meaningfully contribute to economic growth and investment in Africa. Further, the partners hope to produce and share knowledge on US-Africa business relations and trade contributions.

In particular, US businesses (large, medium, and small) demonstrating good corporate citizenship in Africa will be acknowledged and celebrated. The top 3 winners in each business category will show demonstrable and positive social, cultural, and environmental impacts on core economic sectors in Africa. Companies are invited to enter the competition from the following sectors

  • Energy
  • Retail
  • Information and communication technologies
  •  Digital and creative industries
  • Agriculture & fishing
  •  Manufacturing
  •  Finance
  •  Transport
  • Hospitality
  • Health
  •  Construction
  • Education
  • Mining


  • Must be a U.S. owned businesses that are members of either, the U.S, Chamber of Commerce, an American chamber of commerce in any African country, and the Corporate Council on Africa (CCA) operating in Africa.
  • A business that has positive social, cultural, and environmental impacts on core economic sectors in Africa
  • Sponsorship of the awards will not be accepted for non-profit entities, foundations, or charities closely associated with American businesses. Non-profit organizations that show no conflict may be involved as sponsoring partners.
  • Business must either be a small, medium or large business with indications
  • The submission should be accompanied by a signed executive authority confirming that the submission is authentic and endorsed by the business.


  • Excelling businesses will be awarded prizes during an annual gala event cascading from the overall winner (platinum),  and then for each category, first runner up (gold), second runner up (silver), third runner-up (bronze).
  • The qualified finalist will have access to be present at awards gala event at the Hilton Hotel, Sandton, Johannesburg, South Africa
  • U.S. businesses will gain access data to enhance evidence-based teaching, learning, research, and knowledge production.

Judging Process

  • An independent judging panel will lead the judging process.

    The judges will represent the interests of Africa and the U.S.


    The judges will represent academia, private sector, public sector, and international development sector


    A reputable international firm will audit the process.


    A chief judge will preside over the entire judging process.


    The chief judge will be an individual who is a respected leader nominated and endorsed by the Governing Board.


    The judging criteria are primarily quantitative, including a qualitative dimension.

Click here to apply

Oyin Olufayo

Oyin Olufayo is a Sustainable Development Goals Advocate. A recent graduate of The School of Politics, Policy, and Governance (SPPG) She is a Technical Writer, Political Writer, and a Content Writer. Her passion for sustainable development goals has been implemented by creating tangible solutions. She has featured in grassroots initiatives like TedX, World Literacy Foundation, Spur Nation Media, FRCN, Naija Law and etc. spreading the impact of Sustainable education, and also facilitated numerous events regarding SDGs.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button