Deadline: 1st of March, 2023

Universit√© du Nouveau-Brunswick Richard James Currie, O.C., O.N.B., C.B.H.F., M.B.A., D. Litt., P.Eng., who held the position of Chancellor of the University of New Brunswick from 2003 to 2013, founded the Currie Undergraduate Scholarships. Dr. Currie received recognition as the University’s Chancellor Emeritus during the convocation events in May 2013.


After graduating from high school in any of the four Atlantic Provinces, students who want to enroll in an undergraduate program at the University of New Brunswick are given the Curie Undergraduate Scholarship each year. Future leaders’ education is meant to be supported via the Currie Undergraduate Scholarships. In order to give the selection committee an idea of the applicants’ leadership abilities to date, including but not limited to school and extracurricular activities, the applicants are required to submit an essay (not less than 250 words). There must be proof in the essay that you overcame obstacles or challenging circumstances. The need for money is a crucial factor.


The component for the Currie undergraduate value has been stated here. A total of four Currie Undergraduate Scholarships will be awarded.
Value: A total of $65,000 each, awarded as follows:
Year 1: $20,000 Year 3: $15,000
Year 2: $20,000 Year 4: $10,000

NOTE: Recipients are required to live in residence for the first year of their degree program. A scholarship GPA of 3.7 is required each year to renew this scholarship.


Submission deadline is March 1, 2023. If the application deadline falls on a Saturday or Sunday, please make sure UNB receives your application by no later than the Friday before March 1. The application package can be sent as a single PDF via email, fax, or postal service to the Undergraduate Awards Office. The Undergraduate Awards Office will need to be able to request the original documentation from the applicant.
The Currie Scholarship Selection Committee will examine applications and choose the winners. Beth Currie Watt, B.P.E. 1993, Mrs. C. Elizabeth Meier, B.A. 1971, M.Sc. 1975, B.Sc.N. 1986, and Taylor Steele, B.Sc.E. 2013, Ph.D. 2019, P.Eng. 2019, make up the committee.

On Friday, March 17 and Saturday, March 18, 2023 ten finalists will be interviewed in Fredericton. Travel and accommodation will be covered. Attendance is required.


Click here to apply

Oyin Olufayo

Oyin Olufayo is a Sustainable Development Goals Advocate. A recent graduate of The School of Politics, Policy, and Governance (SPPG) She is a Technical Writer, Political Writer, and a Content Writer. Her passion for sustainable development goals has been implemented by creating tangible solutions. She has featured in grassroots initiatives like TedX, World Literacy Foundation, Spur Nation Media, FRCN, Naija Law and etc. spreading the impact of Sustainable education, and also facilitated numerous events regarding SDGs.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button