UNESCO Prize for Girls and Women’s Education 2024

Deadline: 24th of May, 2024

The UNESCO Prize for Girls’ and Women’s Education recognizes exceptional and innovative achievements by people, institutions, and organizations to enhance education for girls and women worldwide. It is the first UNESCO Prize of this kind, and it is unique in that it focuses on successful programs that improve and promote girls’ and women’s educational opportunities, and hence the quality of their lives.

The Prize, which is funded by the Government of the People’s Republic of China, is given to two laureates each year and consists of a $50,000 reward to aid continue their work in the field of girls’ and women’s education. The Director-General of UNESCO gave the Prize for the first time in 2016.


  • Who can nominate? Governments of UNESCO Member States via their Permanent Delegations to UNESCO and Non-Governmental Organizations (NGOs) in official partnership with UNESCO can make up to 3 nominations. Self-nominations are not accepted.
  • Who can be nominated? Individuals, institutions, or organizations advancing girls’ and women’s education are eligible for nomination. Nominations must focus on an established project or programme of the candidate, which has been running for at least two years, and meets the selection criteria.
  • How to be nominated? Self-nominations are not accepted. If you, your institution, or organization meet the selection criteria, please contact your country’s National Commission to UNESCO or a relevant NGO in official Partnership with UNESCO.


  • Launch of the call for nominations (8 March, International Women’s Day)
  • Submission of nominations online (8 March – 24 May)
  • Meeting of the International Jury (June/July)
  • Announcement of the Prize laureates (early October)
  • Award ceremony (11 October, International Day of the Girl Child)

Click here to apply 

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button