UN Environment Programme (UNEP) Champions of the Earth Award 2023

Deadline: 14th of April, 2023

Nominations for the UNEP Champions of the Environment Award 2023 are now being accepted. This year, UNEP is seeking nominations for people, organizations, and governments that are creating and implementing innovative and sustainable plastic pollution solutions and policies.

Following a historic UN Environment Assembly resolution in 2022 to develop an international legally binding instrument on plastic pollution, including in the marine environment, with the goal of concluding negotiations by the end of 2024, the year 2023 is critical in ensuring that the world comes together to end the scourge of plastic pollution. Cote d’Ivoire will host World Environment Day this year, which will also highlight initiatives to #BeatPlasticPollution.

The triple global crises of climate change, biodiversity loss, and pollution and waste is not insurmountable. Every day, people all across the world are coming up with new methods to assist nature’s incredible potential for rejuvenation. The Champions of the Earth contribute to this push. They emphasize the importance of environmental sustainability in attaining sustainable development. Since the award’s creation in 2005, 111 people and organizations have been named Champions of the Earth: 26 international leaders, 69 individuals, and 16 organizations.


Every year, individuals, groups and organisations who have made outstanding contributions to
the protection and restoration of the environment are recognized in four categories:

  • Policy leadership
  • Inspiration and action
  • Entrepreneurial vision
  • Science and innovation


  • Nominations are open to everyone.
  • Individuals, government entities, groups and organisation may be nominated under the
    categories of Policy Leadership, Inspiration and Action, Entrepreneurial Vision, and Science
    and Innovation.

Selection Criteria:

The criteria for selection are:

  • Impact – Have the nominee’s actions resulted in profound environmental gains or
    demonstrated significant potential for replication and scaling?
  • Novelty – Has the nominee done or achieved something new and innovative?
  • Power of the story – How compelling and inspiring is the nominee’s story?


Nominations are open from 14 March to 14 April 2023 to everyone; the Champions of the Earth
will be announced in late 2023.

Click here to nominate


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button