Livingston Awards 2024

Deadline: 1st of February, 2023

The Livingston Awards for Young Journalists were established in 1981 to recognize outstanding reporting and bolster the careers of journalists under the age of 35. For more than four decades, the Livingston Awards have identified exceptional young journalists and the next generation of newsroom leaders.

Each year, prizes of $10,000 each are presented in local, national, and international reporting. Winners are selected by our panel of judges, who share a longtime commitment to our program and are highly respected for their achievements in journalism.

The Livingston Awards invite print, online, video, audio, and data visualization entries.

Winning the award helps talented young reporters develop the confidence and the institutional backing to continue producing ambitious projects. National recognition leads winners to new stories, new audiences, and new career opportunities. The distinguished names of past winners include David Remnick, Christiane Amanpour, Ira Glass, Michelle Norris, and Steve Coll.


Prizes of $10,000 will be presented in three categories: local, national, and international reporting. There is no entry fee. Prize money is paid directly to the journalists, not the media organizations.

  • Entrants must be 34 years of age or younger as of December 31, 2023.
  • Multiple bylines are eligible, but all must meet the age criteria.
  • One entry per individual is accepted. One entry can be a single piece or a maximum of three pieces, either from a published series, an original piece and its follow-up developments, or three pieces clearly tied together in a beat. All pieces of the series must be published by the same organization.
  • There is no limit to the number of entries that a media organization can submit, provided that they enter only one entry per reporter.
  • Individuals may apply on their own or be entered by their organization.
  • Print, online, video, audio, and data visualization work are eligible. Still, photography is not eligible.
  • <id=”u.s.”>The work must appear in U.S.-controlled media. Entrants are not required to be U.S. citizens.</id=”u.s.”>
  • Entries must be directly related to current events or include new information about old events. Features and commentary are eligible.
  • Submissions must consist of materials prepared in the ordinary course of the journalist’s professional production. Materials prepared by journalists specifically for submission to the Livingston Awards do not qualify.
  • Student media completed solely as a class assignment or for a college or university publication is not eligible.
  • Journalism produced by students and published by a media organization serving a general audience is eligible.
  • Competition is limited to work published or appearing during the calendar year ending December 31, 2023.
  • The Livingston Awards reserve the right to use any part or whole of any entered piece for publicity or educational purposes.
  • Winners will participate in an outreach event arranged by the Livingston Awards.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button