BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Awards 2024

Deadline: 30th of June, 2024

The BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Awards recognize fundamental contributions in a broad array of areas of scientific knowledge, technology, humanities and artistic creation, as listed in point 2 of these call conditions.


The disciplines and domains of the BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Awards are:

  1. Basic Sciences (Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics)
  2. Biology and Biomedicine
  3. Information and Communication Technologies
  4. Climate Change and Environmental Sciences
  5. Economics, Finance and Management
  6. Humanities
  7. Social Sciences
  8. Music and Opera


  • The BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Awards consist of 400,000 euros, a diploma and a commemorative artwork in each of their eight categories.
  • In the event that an award is shared by more than one person, its monetary amount will be divided equally among all recipients.
  • All awards, in whatever category, will be subject to the withholding and other taxes prescribed by current legislation, which will be deducted from their total amount.


  • Candidates may be one or more natural persons of any nationality, without limitation of number, that have made independent or convergent contributions to a given advance, whether due to a formal collaboration (with the nominees belonging to one or more groups) or parallel working.
  • The awards are also open to scientific or cultural organizations that can be collectively credited with exceptional contributions to scientific knowledge, cultural creation, the fight against climate change or the conservation of the natural environment.
  • Awards may not be granted posthumously.

Nomination Procedure:

Self-nomination is not permitted.

Any scientific or cultural organization or institution can submit nominations, following their own internal procedures. Among them:

  • Scientific or artistic societies and organizations
  • National and regional academies of science or culture
  • Public or private R&D centers
  • University schools, departments or institutes and research or teaching institutes
  • Hospital departments and biomedical research centers
  • Schools of music
  • Orchestras, orchestra associations, opera theaters and opera associations
  • Public agencies and supranational, national or regional organizations substantially engaged in analysis and/or activities relating to climate change and environmental conservation
  • Other scientific, cultural and environmental organizations

Submission Procedure:

The nomination period will open on January 1, 2024 and conclude at 16:00 GMT on June 30 of the same year.

All nominations should be submitted using the dedicated form on this website.

Both nominations and the accompanying documentation must be submitted in English only.

In the event that various organizations or individuals wish to jointly or coordinately submit a nomination, they should appoint a nomination coordinator who will merge all the materials into a single entry.

The nominating institution or individual must provide the following information and documentation, as specified at the above web address:

  1. Award category for which the candidate is nominated
  2. Name of the nominating institution and officer/body, with the corresponding contact data (postal and email address, plus landline and cell phone numbers)
  3. Letter of nomination signed by the nominating officer/body
  4. Candidate particulars including institutional affiliation and contact data
  5. Description of the salient contributions of the candidate and reasoned arguments for the nomination (maximum of three pages, single spaced)
  6. Candidate’s curriculum vitae

Click here to apply

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button