African Economic Research Consortium (AERC) 2024

Deadline: 31st of August, 2024

The African Economic Research Consortium (AERC) was established in 1988 as a public, not-for-profit organization devoted to the advancement of economic policy research and training in Africa. The Consortium’s mandate and strategic intent are built on the basis that sustained development in sub-Saharan Africa requires well-trained, locally based professional economists. AERC agitates for the provision of capacity building in economic policy in Francophone and Anglophone African countries through provision of support in the areas of policy research and graduate training.

AERC wishes to announce the 2024/2025 Ph.D. scholarships for applicants from Francophone and Anglophone sub-Saharan African countries admitted into any of the following AERC Collaborative PhD Programme (CPP) in Economics degree-awarding universities:

  • University of Cape Town, South Africa
  • University of Abomey-Calavi, Benin
  • University of Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
  • University of Benin, Nigeria
  • Félix Houphouet-Boigny University, Côte d’Ivoire
  • University Cheikh Anta Diop in Dakar, Senegal
  • University of Ibadan, Nigeria
  • University of Nairobi, Kenya
  • University of Yaoundé II, Cameroon
  • University of Pretoria
  • University of Witwatersrand, South Africa

As AERC continues its unwavering commitment to economic research and capacity building, the 2024 PhD Fellowship program stands as a beacon of hope, empowering the next generation of African economists to lead the continent towards a brighter future.


  • By offering this fellowship, the AERC aims to nurture a new generation of economists who can contribute significantly to policy-making, economic development, and research in their home countries and across the African continent. This initiative is critical for ensuring the long-term sustainability and resilience of Africa’s economic systems and policy frameworks.
  • The fellowship program aims to strengthen the continent’s economic research capacity by providing scholarships to students admitted to AERC Collaborative PhD Programs (CPP) at various universities.


To qualify, an applicant must:

  • Have applied and been admitted to any one of the listed CPP universities;
  • Have attained at least a Second Class Honours (Upper Division) or equivalent in Economics, Agricultural Economics, or related field from an accredited university;
  • Have a Masters degree (with coursework and thesis component) in Economics, Agricultural Economics, or related fields from a recognized University. The coursework should have covered microeconomics, macroeconomics, quantitative methods and econometrics;
  • Possession of at least 1 relevant publication in a refereed journal will be an added advantage;
  • Evidence of engagement in economic management, research, and/or training in the public sector will be an added advantage; and
  • Female and applicants from post-conflict and fragile states are encouraged to apply.


  • Interested applicants must submit their applications for admission directly to the respective universities (application procedure can be obtained from the respective university’s website).
  • Upon receipt of an admission letter from a specific university, applicants shall upload the following documents on to the AERC scholarship portal:
  • Application cover letter;
  • Curriculum Vitae.
  • Evidence of admission at any of the universities listed above; and
  • Certified copies of transcripts and certificates.

Click here to apply

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button